Melbourne: A Vego/Vegan foodies paradise…

Gone are the days where you’d struggle to find a healthy eatery for a fresh vegetarian/vegan meal…In Melbourne, we now have an abundance of healthy eating spots! New to Melbourne or just visiting? No problems, here is my go-to guide, including an interactive herbivore map to Melbourne…

Vegie Bar – 380 Brunswick Street, Fitzroy VIC 3065 – www.vegiebar.com.au

This place is a Melbourne institution, a must for anybody after tasty vegetarian, vegan or raw vegan food! Even the sternest of meat eaters will find something to dazzle their taste buds – my Dad loves the burrito here!

Vegie bar

Yong Green Food – 421 Brunswick Street, Fitzroy VIC 3065 – www.yonggreenfood.com.au

Raw pad thai and raw lasagna are my favs here! Great raw dessert options also. Everything is delicious, you can’t go wrong here.

Yong Green Food

Sister of Soul – 73 Acland Street, St Kilda VIC  3182 – www.sisterofsoul.com.au – IG: @ sisterofsoulstkilda

My favourites…Pad Ka Phao (mixed mushroom stirfry), the burrito, stirfrys, beetroot chocolate cake…delicious!

Sister of Soul

Monk Bodhi Dharma – 202 Carlisle Street, Balaclava VIC 3183 – www.monkbodhidharma.com

Granola, Umami mushrooms on toast, Bhutan salad…it’s all delicious. A little hidden away gem! Get there early, there may be a wait..

Monk Bodhi Dharma

Admiral Cheng Ho – 325 Johnston Street, Abbotsford VIC – www.admiralchengho.com.au – IG: @ admiralchengho

The sister restaurant to Monk Bodhi Dharma, and just as fantastic. Hazelnut lattes, bircher muesli with coconut yoghurt, umami mushrooms, north african baked beans on toast – everything they serve up is simply amazing and a must try!

Admiral Cheng Ho

Combi – 140 Ormond Road, Elwood VIC – www.wearecombi.com.au – IG: @ wearecombi

Amazing juices and smoothies, acai bowls, raw pizza, bircher muesli, raw desserts.

Combi

Shakahari Too – 225 Clarendon Street, South Melbourne VIC – www.shakaharitoo.com.au – IG: @shakaharitoo

Yum, yum, yum. The mushroom parcels, pasta dish, curry…You can’t go wrong here!

Shakahari Too

Pana Chocolate – 491 Church Street, Richmond VIC – www.panachocolate.com – IG: @ pana_chocolate

I have two words for you – dessert heaven!! Raw vegan slices, cakes, chocolates, icecreams, hot coconut milk chocolates…I die…

Pana Chocolate

Shokuiku – 120 High Street, Northcote VIC – www.shokuikuaustralia.com – IG: @ shokuiku

Organic raw meals, superfood smoothies, tonic teas, elixirs, raw desserts, fresh salads. Shokuiku also holds regular set menu dinners, and raw cooking classes, and sells some of her products from the cafe itself.

Shokuiki

Moroccan Soup Bar – 183 St Georges Road, Fitzroy North VIC 3068 – www.moroccansoupbar.com.au 

Get in early and be prepared to wait – this is a red hot favourite with the locals! The $20 p/h banquet is great value and highly recommended.

MoroccanSoupBar6

Lentil as Anything – Abbotsford, Footscray and St Kilda locations – www.lentilasanything.com – IG: @ lentilasanything1

A not-for-profit vegetarian restaurant where payment is via donations for what you would like to contribute and think your meal was worth. The okonomiyaki (japanese pancake) is a personal favourite!

lentil-as-anything

The Nutrition Bar – Richmond, Windsor and St Kilda locations – www.nutritionbar.com.au – IG: thenutritionbar

Great for a quick juice, takeaway salad, or guilt free treat. Their nutella slice is simply mouth watering! Acai bowls also make a great healthy brunch option.

NutritionBar

Raw Traderwww.rawtrader.com.au – 10 Sutherland Street, Melbourne – IG @rawtrader

A divine selection of breakfast food, raw desserts and coffee tucked amongst the CBD laneways – worth the hunt to find!

Raw Trader

Home Juicewww.homejuice.com.au – 720 Bourke Street, Docklands – IG: @ homejuicebar

Wall-to-wall cold pressed glass bottled juices, fresh salads and raw desserts – enough said!!

Home Juice

Green Press – 525 Little Collins Street, Melbourne CBD – www.lovegreenpress.com.au – IG: @ lovegreenpress

Cold pressed glass bottled juices, fresh salads, and, wait for it, healthy donuts…yes, you read right..’Krispy Klean’ donuts they’ve been dubbed, made out of flax seeds and pumpkin. Meet you there!!

Green Press

Urban Projuice – 315 Montague Street, Albert Park VIC 3206 – IG: @ urbanprojuice

A new addition to the Melbourne health food scene, this little gem is tucked away in a renovated house in Albert Park with a gorgeous little courtyard out the back for those sunny Melbourne days. A great selection of vegan and vegetarian options – I highly recommend!

Urban Projuice

Tropicana Juice Bar – 213 Elizabeth Street, Melbourne VIC 3000

Tropicana Juice Bar

Oasis Bakery – 993 North Road, Murrumbeena VIC 3163 – www.oasisbakery.com.au – IG: @ oasisbakery

I could spend hours in this place!! An amazing gourmet market store, with a middle eastern influence – I’m talking falafal mixes, nougat, baklava and walls of dips and nut mixes. Not to mention the amazing cafe adjoined to it. Yum Yum! Added bonus: it’s a 5 minute drive from Springvale market, so you could totally tie in an Asian market shop whilst you’re out that way. Two birds, one stone… foodie heaven day out sorted!

Oasis Bakery

Smith & Daughters – 175 Brunswick Street, Fitzroy VIC 3065 – www.smithanddaughters.com – IG: @ smithanddaughters

Delicious, hearty food and a great cocktail selection!

Smith and Daughters

Matcha Mylkbar – 72 Acland Street, St Kilda VIC 3182 – www.matchamylkbar.com – IG: @matcha_mylkbar

Mushroom and matcha green tea lattes, colourful smoothie bowls, vegan eggs (!!), and smoothies in awesome skull glasses – enough said!! Get there early or be prepared to wait, this place is hot to trot. Check out Broadsheet’s write up: https://www.broadsheet.com.au/melbourne/food-and-drink/directory/cafe/matcha-mylkbar#gallery-5

Matcha Mylkbar

Girls & Boys Fitzroy – 382 Brunswick Street, Fitzroy 3065 – IG: @girlsandboysfitzroy

Vegan dessert and ice-cream deliciousness!

girls-and-boys

Soul Press – 265 Nepean Hwy, Edithvale VIC 3196 – IG: @soul.press

Amazing smoothies, raw desserts, salads and fresh juices. And did I mention it’s right by Edithvale beach? I’ve just moved to Edithvale myself, and this is my new local (may or may not have been a determining reason on my house location decision just quietly).

Soul Press

Pressed Juices – Various locations – www.pressedjuices.com.au – IG: @pressedjuices

Cold pressed juices, juice cleanses, raw desserts and salads – so many great combinations!

Pressed Juices

SOS Cafe – 177 Toorak Rd, South Yarra VIC 3141 – www.soscafe.com – IG: @ soscafe

SOS Cafe

Green Cup – 593 Chapel St, South Yarra VIC 3141 – www.greencup.com.au – IG:@ green.cup

Green Cup

Mister Nice Guy’s Bake Shop – 151 Union Rd, Melbourne VIC 3032 – www.misterniceguy.com.au – IG: @ mister_nice_guys_bakeshop

The BEST vegan bakery!!! I got a dozen cupcakes in various flavours for my boyfriends birthday last year so I could eat them along with his housemates and him, and they were INSANE – just as good, if not better than regular non-vegan cupcakes!!!

Mister Nice Guys

Supercharger – Emporium Level 3, 287 Lonsdale St, Melbourne VIC 3000 – IG: @ superchargervegan

Great value vegan spreads!! Choose from pre-selected meals which include 5 yummy options included a raw, fermented and protein dish. Or you can make your own spread from their list of items under various categories. They also have a selection of juices and deserts available.

Supercharger

Glo Health – 358-360 Glen Huntly Rd, Elsternwick VIC 3185 – www.glohealth.com.au

Delicious meals, desserts, smoothies and hot drinks! A great health food store and natural practitioner clinic to boot.

Glo Health

Holy Bowly – 531 Hampton St, Hampton VIC 3188 – www.holybowly.com.au – IG: @ holybowly

Holy Bowly

Five Plus Smoothie – 265 Little Lonsdale St, Melbourne VIC 3000 – IG: @ fiveplussmoothie

The choc-mint smoothie is a personal favourite, I highly recommend!

Five Plus Smoothie

Green Remedy – 211 Glen Huntly Rd, Elsternwick VIC 3185 – www.remedybar.com.au/greenremedy – IG: @ greenremedy

Green Remedy

Serotonin Eatery – 52 Madden Grove, Burnley VIC 3121 – www.serotonindealer.com – IG: @ serotonindealer

This place is insane. Enough said. Get there.

Serotonin

Transformer – 99 Rose St, Fitzroy VIC 3065 – www.transformerfitzroy.com

Fine dining vego/vegan food from the talent behind Vegie Bar creators. A great spot for a special dinner and some top quality  food.

Transformer

And if you’re up for a day trip out of Melbourne…

Surfcoast Wholefoods – 41 Bristol Road, Torquay VIC 3228 – www.surfcoastwholefoods.com.au – IG: @ scwholefoods

A fantastic fresh grocer, an abundance of health food supplies, plus a cafe and bookstore, which offers yoga and health practitioner appointments! Your one-stop-shop! The quinoa sushi rolls are worth the drive on their own

Surfcoast Wholefoods Anti Cancer

HEALTH FOOD STORES/ORGANIC GROCERS

Passionfoods – South Melbourne – www.passionfoods.com.au – IG: @ passionfoods – Online Shopping also available….

Aunt Maggies – Balaclava, Fitzroy, Malvern, Brunswick & Hampton locations – www.auntmaggies.com.au – IG: @ auntmaggies

Prahran Health Foods – Prahran – www.prahranhealthfoods.com.au

South Melbourne Market – South Melbourne – www.southmelbournemarket.com.au – IG: @ southmelbournemarket

Thomas Dux Grocer – Richmond, Port Melbourne & Armadale locations – www.thomasdux.com.au – IG: @ ThomasDux

Green Scoop Bulk Whole Foods – 30 Edithvale Road, Edithvale 3196 – www.thegreenscoop.com.au – IG: @thegreenscoopbulk

Oasis Bakery – Murrumbeena – www.oasisbakery.com.au – IG:@ oasisbakery – Online shopping also available…

The Staple Store – Ripponlea – www.staplestore.myshopify.com – IG: @ thestaplestore

Prahran Market – Prahran – www.prahranmarket.com.au

Queen Victoria Market – Melbourne – www.qvm.com.au

Prahran Convenience – Prahran – IG: @ prahranconvenience

Health Bar Melbourne – 7 Candlebark Ct, Research VIC 3095 – www.healthbarmelbourne.com – IG: @ healthbarmelbourne

Glo Health – 358-360 Glen Huntly Rd, Elsternwick VIC 3185 – www.glohealth.com.au